This article give you the general view about the situation of Lao politics. That will help you understand more about the country and avoid political issues in case when travelling.

Lao Politics


The Lao political system is controlled by the Lao People’s Revolutionary Party (LPRP), the forces of globalization and regionalization continue to drive the Lao government to open the economy to market forces. Laos increasingly shows a willingness to engage in international fora on governance issues as well.

The Lao People’s Democratic Republic (LPDR) was proclaimed on 2 December 1975, abolishing the monarchy and the previous Royal Lao Government. It exercised power to the principle of democratic centralism.

Lao People’s Revolutionary Party (LPRP) is the only legal political party. The head of state in 2016 was President Bounnhang Vorachit. The head of government at that time was Prime Minister Thongloun Sisoulith. Government policies are determined by the party through the powerful Politburo members and the Central Committee members. Important government decisions are vetted by the Politburo.

The first National Assembly was elected in December 1992. Its inaugural session was in February 1993. As the country’s legislative organ, it oversees the judiciary and activities of administration. The National Assembly, which has added seats at every election, approves all new laws, although the executive branch retains the authority to issue binding decrees.

The country’s President is the head of state, and is elected by National Assembly for a 5-year term. The President also acts as the country’s commander in chief of the armed forces (Lao People’s Army). The Council of Ministers is the country’s highest executive organ, and its chairman is designated as prime minister. Its vice chairmen oversee the work of ministers. Real power is exercised by members of the ruling party, the Lao People’s Revolutionary Party (LPRP), particularly the Political Bureau (Politburo) and Central Committee.

Laos’ judiciary is comprised of the Supreme People’s Court, provincial and municipal courts, people’s district courts, and military courts.